No woman at this year's Nobel Prize in Medicine, Physics and Chemistry

2016/10/06 Galarraga Aiestaran, Ana - Elhuyar Zientzia Iturria: Elhuyar aldizkaria

Ed. Nobel Prize

Winners of the Medicine, Physics and Chemistry awards have already been notified by December 10. In total there are seven people, all men. Therefore, this year will increase the percentage of women among Nobel laureates by half, decreasing.

The Nobel Prizes are 115 years old, 826 prizes have been awarded (as announced this year) and among the winners there are only 48 women. One of them received it in two. Marie is Curie, received Physics in 1903 and Chemistry in 1911. Aside from Curie, only three other people have received two Novels: John Bardeen, Linus Pauling and Frederik Sanger.

Of the 48 women who received the novel, two received Physics, four received Chemistry (one of them was Curie) and twelve received Medicine or Physiology. That is, 17 women have been awarded in science novels. The rest, 31, have been awarded in the categories of Peace or Literature.

Although from the decade to the decade in general the percentage of women increases (slowly and not in all decades), the trend is not appreciated in all categories: It has been 53 years since a woman was awarded in Physics. And today, physics remains the scientific field with the lowest percentage of female researchers. Therefore, it does not seem that only the passage of time equates the percentage of winners.

Gai honi buruzko eduki gehiago

Elhuyarrek garatutako teknologia