The hidden force of the ring has been Work III. Winner of the Thesis Prize

2005/06/20 Andonegi Beristain, Garazi - Elhuyar Zientziaren Komunikazioa

Silvia Arrese-Igor has been the third edition of the Basque Research website of the Elhuyar Foundation. Winner of the Thesis Awards. Arrese-Igor received a PhD in Physics from the University of the Basque Country. In his work The hidden strength of the ring has analyzed the properties of plastics.

Silvia Arrese-Igorre has specially analysed the properties of plastics containing phenyl rings. These rings move around the basic plastic chain. They spin and swing. In addition, the molecules surrounding these rings can stimulate or reduce these movements. Thus, the UPV researcher has been able to verify that these movements influence the mechanical properties of plastic. For this reason, it has revealed the hidden force of the rings. Thanks to this work, Arrese-Igor has received a laptop thanks to the collaboration of SISTEK Informática and Sistemas.

Silvia Arrese-Igor and Ane Martínez de Guereñu.

The second prize went to Ane Martínez de Guereñu, New magnetic technique of microstructural aceros characterization. Ane Martínez de Guereñu graduated in industrial engineering from the University of Navarra and is a researcher at TECNUN. The work presented has analyzed the characteristics of the microstructure of the steel. It proposes new magnetic techniques of analysis of the internal structure of the steel, which allow to measure the plastic deformations of the steels and obtain parameters that allow to know how the microstructure of the steel is modified in different productive processes. Ane Martínez de Guereñu, winner of a weekend in a farmhouse for her thesis, offered by Nekatur.

A total of 17 papers have been submitted. To the Thesis Prize. Of these, 9 have been from the Public University of Navarra, 7 from the UPV and one from the University of Navarra. All theses were submitted in 2004.

The topics covered were very diverse: computer science, agriculture, engineering, geology, mathematics, statistics, biology, chemistry, physics, medicine and pharmacy. As for the languages, the 4 abstracts have had as main language Basque, 12 Spanish and one English.

The jury has valued that the winning works have been the ones that have had the most efforts to divulge the thesis. Taking into account the complexity of the topics, the jury has highlighted the effort to write in an accessible way for everyone. In addition, they have valued the explanation and proper use of terminology, the tenderness of writing, the good explanation of the core of the thesis and the divulgative effort made in Basque, together with other parameters.

These award-winning works, as well as those of the other participating authors, can be seen in the THESIS PRIZE section of the website

Jury of the Jury

The jury has been composed of the following persons:

    Aitziber Agirre Ruiz de Arkaute, a doctor in biochemistry. Teknopolis, presenter and editor of the science and technology outreach program Guillermo Roa Zubia, doctor of chemistry. Scientific head of the journal Elhuyar Zientzia eta Teknika Eider Carton Virto, degree in Chemistry. Director of the magazine Elhuyar Zientzia eta Teknika Garazi Andonegi Beristain, technical engineer. Director of the portal Basque Research Irati Kortabitarte Egiguren, Degree in Chemistry. Editor of the Basque Research portal